feline5190

Hair thinning especially at roots, will extensions help?

(0) Hearts

My hair is naturally fine and very straight, but has recently become much more thin.  It is most noticeable at the roots to the left of where I part my hair.  I'm not 100% sure of the cause, but it is most likely due to either damage from hair coloring, birth control, or stress.  Since I feel like the thinning/hair loss is most noticeable at my roots where I part my hair, I want to find something that will make it less noticeable now- since I know it can take a while to grow hair back (if it even ever does).  I'm wondering if hair exetensions will help?  I've never used extensions before, so I really have no idea if they'll work.  And since my hair is most noticeably thin on my scalp in front, I'm wondering how I would clip in the extensions to add the illusion of fullness while also being able to hide the clip.  This is really distressing, since although my hair has always been fine, it used to be much more full, so that I could part my hair off to the side and have the other part of my hair come across my forehead.  Now I can't really do that, and my forehead looks bigger as a result (if that makes sense).

Thanks for any advice you can give me!  

kimbrit

Re: Hair thinning especially at roots, will extensions help?

[ Edited ]
(0) Hearts

I got to know about the hair extensions and since then I have used the hair extensions to add volume and length to my thin hair.

feline5190

(0) Hearts

Thanks for all the help and advice!  I'm not going to do the extensions because they are way too expensive and the advice given here suggests they may just cause more stress (although the people at the hair salon said the sewn in ones will not stress the hair). 

-  I color my hair using permanent color every 3-6 months, but the hairdresser assured me that hair color won't cause hair loss (unless you develop an allergic reaction of course).  Not sure if I agree with that.