CelesteMaria

Bleaching a streak in dark brown hair?

(0) Hearts

One of my guy friends wants to bleach a streak in his hair but he doesn't want to go to a salon to get it done. Can anyone recommend a good/reliable product we can use? Tips are appreciated too :smileyhappy:

arielaaaaaaaa

Re: Bleaching a streak in dark brown hair?

Okay, well i understand not wanting to pay the Salon prices, I'm a stylist, But it's necessary, unless he wants to just have an uneven colored streak that honestly may not look good in the end. 

However, if he's really determined, I've used the the L'oreal Super Blonde, There are two types, pick whichever best. For the streak try to get some foil, cut it in a piece, where it can fold over his hair. Then apply it, fold the foil and check on it periodically. Leaving it too long can make it a really soft, sort of gummy texture, you want to avoid that. It may take multiple times to achieve the blonde he wants depending on his current hair color. 

He needs a good conditioner unless he wants breakage, serious damage, or straw like hair. 

You know it's been on too long if you pull on a strand (While bleach is still in) and it really stretches. Time to wash out, wait a few days, condition hair and try again. 

lylysa

Like many other users have suggested, avoid taking the risk and have a professional do it.

If your friend doesn't want to pay high end salon prices, have him research local beauty schools which often have lower costs or even select free services as trainings and lessons for their practiced students. This could be a great and much safer alternative if you don't have the experience in chemically treating hair.

Bleaching hair may sound simple enough, but there are so many variables to take in such as hair type, the condition of one's hair, the undertone of hair, mixing proper ratios, using the proper volume and formula of developer, using the proper formula of a bleaching agent, and processing time.