crflh

foundation is separating on my face! what to use?

Hello everyone,

I am new to this thread and was just wondering if any of you could help me out. I have sensitive, combo oily skin and no matter what primer or foundation I seem to use (tried several liquids and bare minerals powder), it breaks apart on me a few hours later. It separates on my face and it looks splotchy mid day. I have also tried primers but none so far have helped with this. I try touching up with a powder once im noticing oiliness to see if that would prevent or conceal the splotchiness but it just makes it look worse. what could be causing this? and what do you recommend to prevent this? Thanks for any tips!

Carmen241986

Re: foundation is separating on my face! what to use?

(0) Hearts

Hey girl,

I have a very similar problem with my make-up seperating by mid-evening as I work nights. However my makeup seems to only go splotchy/blotchy around the nose area though. I've been using Laura Mercier Oil-Free Tinted Moisturizer and Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer underneath.

crflh

(0) Hearts

The cover fx is the oil free natural finish foundation btw . Forgot to mention :smileyhappy:

Stilas primer works best which may be due to its moisturizing properties but I really don't know cause there is still some separating going in even with this one. And once I go over the foundation with some powder it emphasizes the splotchy parts  and even could look flaky particularly on my nose, jaw, and sides of my nose slightly under my eyes. 

Ill look into my routine to see if there is a mixing of oil and water :smileyhappy: thanks for the tip! 

I thought that maybe the flaky looking parts could be due to dry skin, but as mentioned earlier I exfoliate with the clarisonic each night and have pretty oily skin so it's odd ? 

I did like nars primer but the foundation breaks me out pretty bad :smileysad:

crflh

Thanks for your replies and tips ! :smileyhappy: