nadiavollbs

I am new to makeup, any tips?

I am new to makeup, does anyone have good products to recommend or any tips on makeup?

glossyguru

Re: I am new to makeup, any tips?

(0) Hearts

How about you schedule a beauty consultation at your local Sephora store? They will walk you through lots of different products and techniques, and give you information about your skin and skin tone as well. At the end of the appointment, buy the products that you liked, and then like Tayvm mentioned, there are tons of YouTube videos and blog posts as well that can help you get used to using makeup

SydBristow

(0) Hearts

I did pretty well once I got a sort of multi-use palette by Smashbox (like the Masterclass palettes) with eyeshadows, cream eyeliners, blushes, blush highlighters, lip colors. The same could be achieved with a small kit with all the things you might need to start out. 

But...if you don't know your skin tones or type, you may need some direction first.  Do you have access to a makeup store of any kind that might do a makeover for you, or otherwise assist in pointing you in the right direction?

YouTube is a great resource to learn techniques.  I also like to experiment on weekends when no one will really see me, that's when I try winged eyeliner, colors I wouldn't normally wear, etc. 

I also like to get stuff on sale, either here at Sephora or elsewhere, and see if I like certain products.  One of my best introductions to a product line was a mini eyeliner set, three travel-sized liners by Urban Decay.  It wasn't expensive at all, but what using them taught me was how much I liked their product and how good a liner could be.  So I now own oodles of Urban Decay.  :smileyvery-happy: 

Good luck and HAVE FUN!!  :smileyhappy:  We are here if you need us!  :smileyhappy:

Tayvm

You Tube is your friend :smileyhappy: Just type in "beginner makeup" or something similar and you'll have oodles of videos to choose from.

IAmLadyLiterary