lreagan

Best brush to apply powder foundation?

I went to Mac for the first time ever today (!!!) to pick up the Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation. I usually wear liquid foundations but since we are heading into warm weather in California I wanted to get a powder one to keep my oily t-zone in check. I've never used a powder foundation before and was wondering what the best brush type to apply it is? I was thinking maybe a kabuki brush like the one from Too Faced but I'm not sure.

I have the Sephora Pro Light Powder brush (#50) that I use with my translucent setting powder but I don't think the brush is concentrated enough to apply a full coverage powder foundation.

http://www.sephora.com/pro-flawless-light-powder-brush-50-P313007?skuId=1419357

beautylovingirl

Re: Best brush to apply powder foundation?

[ Edited ]

@lreagan- LOL! There  brushes are pretty expensive and I'm sure you can find one just as good cheaper. It's definitely an obession they have such great colors. It gets worse from here. :smileysurprised:

lreagan

Yeah, I really need to stay away from Mac because this could get ugly. I'm also unemployed & job hunting so my wallet is like NO STOP but my eyes are like GIMME ALL THE MAKEUP.

beautylovingirl

[ Edited ]

@lreagan- YAY for you! I use the MAC Studio Tech Sponges to apply mine I didn't like the initial sponges that I got with it. But they recommend the 134 brush they have which is their large powder brush. There is  brush finder at MAC.COM also they have live makeup artist you can chat with. Very helpful!

lreagan

I was looking at the Mac brushes but I REALLY don't want to drop $50+ on a new brush, ugh. I figure I can get a decent kabuki brush for around $30 if I can't make any of my current brushes work with it.

I actually went back to Mac today (I can feel a new obsession forming, uh oh) and picked up a concealer, gel eyeliner, and Fix+).

joeanne