Answer
Kaniarox
Accepted Solution
What product can I use to prevent my makeup from smudging, melting, or coming off?
(0) Hearts

I just started using Kat Von D's foundation, and it works wonderfully on my skin. But, my makeup can easily come off! I could talk on the phone, and afterwards I see my makeup is on it. Changing clothes, sweating, and even at the end of the day sometimes my eyes will burn, probably from my makeup, because I have combination skin and it gets more oily more towards the afternoon. I love the foundation though, so can someone please help me? Can you also advise a good eyeliner, bright pink blush, and mascara that's smudge/melt proof for my skin? Thanks a bunches! (I'm new to this makeup thing)

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments
This is an excerpt of the original post.View the full conversation
lylysa
Answered

Start off with a primer!

Primers prep the skin for a flawless make up application, allows make up to lay better, last longer, and prevents skin issues like sweat, oil, dry areas, pores, fine lines, and wrinkles from disrupting wear.

Determine what skin type you have and what preference you have for texture.

Silicone/Dimethicone primers have a silky, slippery texture, about a pea-sized amount is good for the face (minus the lids) and is best for normal/combo skin types. Certain formulas can also work for oily skin such as Benefit's Porefessional. The silky texture smoothes over enlarged pores and problem areas and also helps to mattify the skin. Benefit's Porefessional can also be tapped onto oily/shiny spots after make up to absorb oil throughout the day rather than layering on a powder. Smashbox Photo Finish Primers are also in this category (minus their oil free formula), as well as Too Faced's Primed and Poreless (minus their formula made for oily skin).