Answer
marshiemallow
Accepted Solution
Makeup Brushes as Gift

Hi there - any recommendation for best makeup brushes? I've never used makeup brushes before.  Please kindly advise! Thank you!

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments
Best Answer
lylysa
Answered

Brushes can be broken up by so many categories.

To start off with, there are two types, natural hair bristles and synthetic hair bristles.

Natural hair brushes generally range from sable, squirrel, goat, pony, badger, and boar. These hairs, like human hair, are porous, so they do cling onto things like natural oil, but also can be very soft. But like human hair, bristles can break over time due to natural wear and tear with use and become scratchy if of poor quality.

Synthetic brushes range from taklon and nylon fibers which are the softer of the synthetics available out there. These brushes do not absorb oil, therefore decreasing the chance for bacteria to breed and linger. Look for very fine strands, these will most likely be less coarse on the skin and are great for applying cream based make up as they won't absorb your product.

Kssweetheart brough up a good point, don't get caught up all in brand names. Though there are certain brands that make stellar brushes on the more high end route, some brushes on the more cost effective side work just as well.

For personal references, here are my takes on brands/brushes.

E.L.F., they range from about $1 to around $3, available online and at Target and Kroger. Their $1 line brushes aren't bad, compared to what you get for the price, but their large brushes (powder/blush) can get scratchy over time because the bristles aren't as fine though they are natural hair. The studio line brushes ($3) are synthetic and much softer, they feel and stay very nice on skin and are a great buy. They have an amazing set for $30 that comes with a zip case and good range of starter brushes.