Free Classes

Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Dry Skin
|

Hope In a Jar Night - WHAT IS THAT SMELL???

So I used a sample of this last night and WOW- I love it! It absorbed quickly and left my skin feeling GREAT this morning. As soon as I put it on it felt like my skin plumped up a bit. I have been super dry lately and this really helped! HOWEVER- WHAT IS GOING ON WITH THE SMELL? It literally smells RANCID, like mold or mildew or the inside of a garbage can. Is it just me??? I have never tried Philosophy skin care before, just their body wash, and was NOT expecting this!

Anonymous Insider

Re: Hope In a Jar Night - WHAT IS THAT SMELL???

I got a deluxe sample from Sephora (100 pt perk) a year ago. Recently I rediscovered it and found that it has separated (white with a yellowish oil) and smell like hell. I couldn't stand it and threw it away 😞

Same thing happened to me, I bought a jar during hautelook sale. As soon as I put it on my face, my eyes were watery because of the stinky smell. I tried to put it on for another couple of days, but eventually just gave up and stopped using it. My sister on the other hand didn't mind the smell and loves the stuff.

I went to Macy's, Nordstrom, and local Sephora to try a better smelling one, but they all smell like that. All of the hope in the jar smell like rotten orange.

Their bodywashes on the other hand smell heavenly! I'm super in love with the chocolate one, it's just too drying for my skin.

To me it smells like somebody boiled pepper and plastic together. However, I can assure you not all Philosophy skincare smells like that (just their most popular one, heh). I have their purity cleanser and Take a Deep Beathe gel cream and they both have a mild clean scent.