Free Classes

Get inspired, play with products & learn new skills

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Post in Combination Skin
|

Skin used to be dry now it's oily/combination. Help!

Hello, 

I'm fairly new to skin care and for a long time, i only used soap and non-scented lotions on my face and it was good enough for my dry-very dry sensitive skin. 

I now use the fresh soy face cleanser and lotus youth preserve face creams and lately i've noticed that i'm oily around the t-zone and i've had the or four pimples on my forehead this past month which is very unusual. I've thought about whether it's the products, the birth control or if my skin is just changing. I stopped using the face cream and any moisturizers all together for my t-zone but i still get oily after a few hours. 

What's going on with my skin and how do i control the oil? 

Re: Skin used to be dry now it's oily/combination. Help!

I switched to facial oils a few years ago and I am OBSESSED.  It seems like they'd be bad, bc you think oil you think acne, but our skin is actually supposed to have some natural oil on it so every time we wash it, it strips it of its natural oils and our pores over produce oil to compensate.  Also, oil is naturally occurring on our faces but lotion is just a bunch of manmade chemicals that clog your pores most of the time. I use my face oil at night after washing my face, then in the morning I skip washing it (since washing dries it out more) and just use a dry washcloth to gently exfoliate and redistribute any oils that accumulated while I was sleeping, since I have combination skin. Boscia Tsubaki Beauty Oil is a great intro oil for all skin types, and there are a bunch of others if you want to address more specific concerns, like aging, brightening, overnight repair, etc.!