teri2lyn

to shimmer or not

I am 56 yrs and would like to know the rule about wearing eye colors with a shimmer.I am not talking about frost or glitter but I usually prefer matte colors  sometimes I feel they are somewhat heavy looking and I need something with more dimension. I have heard :smileysurprised:lder women should never wear shimmer makeup whatsoever.Please set the record straight.

drrragon

Re: to shimmer or not

(0) Hearts

@kittichick -- I'm a newbie when it comes to mattes!  My only all-matte palette is The Balm's Meet Matt(e) which was an impulse buy.  It's not bad, but could use a better distribution of light/dark shades.  I end up needing to supplement with my own all-over-lid and blending shades sometimes which gets a bit annoying.  

The other one is the LM Artist Palette which is half matte.  Those are not only well chosen but the colors show up nicely and don't disappear on me or look patchy.

Definitely have been keeping an eye on Stila In the Know and KVD Ladybird.  Maybe Lorac Pro? Oh and there's a new one coming out by IT Cosmetics that looks pretty good, I might see if Ulta carries it by the time their spring 20% sale rolls around!

SydBristow

(0) Hearts

I have the little crow's feet on the edges of my eyes, sometimes if I apply something with shimmer it makes them show more, but some shimmers don't.  So there are plenty of shimmers I will wear, even to an office workplace.  It's all about what you want and like!  :smileyvery-happy:

CaitlinBrunson

Its makeup, you can do what you want! Personally I think a little shimmer on the lid or inner corner is perfectly fine! I more just don't care for shimmery crease colors (thats on me or anyone!) I like a good contrast in my makeup. In terms of it settling into fine lines, use a primer and that should take care of it. Personally, I really like a glowy sheen on the middle-aged group.