jcknox

dark under arms. sorry y'all

I started to notice my under arms are getting dark and so has my neck. I started to panic but then once i got in the shower it started to rub off so it could be dirt. I just got back from visiting villages in vietnam to see family and the area was quiet dirty like the dirt would be surrounding your whole body cause of motorcycles driving by. I see them scrubbing off of my body but it just can't seem to leave. is there anything i can do to get rid of this darkening?? its really unattractive especially with spring coming our way and tank tops coming out

ccrain

Re: dark under arms. sorry y'all

(0) Hearts

I saw something mentioned about diabetes causing this and do not freak out. I'm a nurse and diabetes would cause a "dark line" on the neck, but it wouldn't be able to be scrubbed off. I have not seen it effect the arm pit area. But I would check with a doctor if exfoliation doesn't help this, as it could be another imbalance of sorts! 

dianabt

Hi jcknox, 

Exfoliating with a good body scrub/exfoliator really helps a lot- this removes buildup of dead skin cells, dyes and fabric from dark clothes that can sometimes contribute to darkness and also buildup of deoderant that just sits on the skin. I read once that sometimes just from shaving the skin can get darker as well so waxing or creams may be an option to look into!

As for exfoliators, I really LOVE the PTR Blemish Buffing Beads for Face and Body which are great for smoothing the skin, preventing any ingrowns and just keeping the skin cells clear and not blocked.

http://www.sephora.com/blemish-buffing-beads-for-face-body-P186207?skuId=1009406

Look into brightening deodorants as well- they are super helpful, I've tried a number of them myself and they are great! Sephora carries the Dermadoctor Total Nonscents Ultra Gentle Brightening Antiperspirant as well?

http://www.sephora.com/total-nonscents-ultra-gentle-brightening-antiperspirant-P73514?skuId=784447