Answer
redkat333
How to prevent as well as cover up red nose on otherwise fair skin

I am 47 and my fair skin has taken on a red hue on my nose! While it is worse in winter cold, it is red in warmer months, too. Any suggestions on how to not just over it up, but comabt the problem, too, would be greatly appreciated.

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments
Answers: 2
tenngal
Answered
(0) Hearts

I'm not a doctor, but I do know that a red nose that seems to come out of nowhere can usually be explained in three words, "oversensitive blood vessels."

Smokers and people with thyroid conditions often have oversensitive blood vessels. In those people, simply entering an air-conditioned room can make their blood vessels clamp down as tight as a vise. This diverts blood away from the skin's surface. When their body warms up, however, the blood vessels open super wide. This brings a rush of blood to the nose, turning it rosy red.

A red nose can also be triggered by emotional stress. Stress causes a surge of adrenaline, which over-dilates the blood vessels. In people who are prone to this kind of reaction, public speaking, a breakneck schedule or a fiery argument are all likely to result in a red nose.

But if your nose turns red frequently or the redness persists, you may have rosacea—a common skin disorder in which the blood vessels in the nose become enlarged. Five percent of the population has rosacea, which usually becomes noticeable around age 30 to 40. In this condition, the blood vessels leak, causing a low-grade inflammation that makes the nose (and also the chin, cheeks and forehead) look like you spent too much time in the sun.

The redness can come and go but may gradually become permanent and more noticeable. It is sometimes accompanied by pus-filled pimples. In advanced stages, the nose can take on a lumpy, swollen appearance, as a result of tissue buildup.