drrragon

Tea tree oil for acne?

Hi all, Just wondering if anyone here has actually tried tea tree oil for acne?  How did you apply it, and did it work for you?  I've been really curious about it as I've never tried it before but have heard good things.  But it's also confusing because I'm not sure how much you're supposed to use, is it for all over or just a spot treatment, etc.  I bought a little bottle of 100% tea tree oil but it seems like you should dilute it with something else first?

Would love to hear any experiences people have had with tea tree oil!

carrierose

Re: Tea tree oil for acne?

This has already been answered in great detail by a lot of people, so I won't go into too much detail, but I use it on my skin added to my Josie Maran Argan Oil and as a spot treatment in its full strength on a really tough pimple.

I also use it in my natural cleaning solution and in my son's cloth wipe solution...it's a great thing, TTO, but I still can't stand the smell! :smileytongue:

drrragon

(0) Hearts

thanks carrierose!  in what proportion do you add the tea tree oil to the Josie Maran?

carrierose

I have the middle sized bottle, 1.7 oz, and I put the TTO straight in there because I don't use the JM for anything but my face.

I used the dropper and just put two "fills" of the TTO into the bottle...my dropper doesn't pick up more than an inch of product so it wasn't too much.  I can't even estimate how much of a proportion that is because I use a dropper-ful each night and have for over a month and the thing isn't even down 25%.  I don't really have any true measurements or reasoning behind it.  It smells like TTO when I put it on my face, that's for sure!! :smileytongue:

drrragon

yup that sure is a strong smell!  luckily it doesn't bother me too much (smells a lot better than some vitamin C seums that's for sure), I've been using a single drop in my nightly moisturizer.

thanks for the info :smileyhappy:

drrragon